President Goodluck Jonathan Confers the National Order of Merit Awards on Professor Seth Sunday Ajayi

President Goodluck Jonathan yesterday conferred the National Order of Merit Awards on three professors.

The recipients are Professors Seth Sunday Ajayi, Science category; Francis Abiola Irele, Humanities and Hilary Inyang Inyang, Engineering/Technology.

Represented by Vice President Mohammed Namadi Sambo at the ceremony held at the State House Abuja, Jonathan congratulated the recipients and charged to contribute their quotas to both the political and scientific development of Nigeria.

The president disclosed that Professor Seth Ajayi would be integrated into the Green World Project so that his experience in aforestation would be tapped.

According to the president, the award, initiated 30 years ago, is the prestigious highest honour conferred on distinguished Nigerians to celebrate excellence.

Charging the recipients to emulate their predecessors by being role models for the younger generations, Jonathan also urged the youth to emulate the feat and good examples shown by the recipients.

The president commended the Governing Board of the Nigerian National Merit Award (NNMA) for their efforts, assuring that their requests would receive the government's attention.

Additional Info

  • Related Website: n/a
  • View Laureates Profile: Click Here!